HOMECWCW Cont...HomebrewPhotosRadio ArtSOTA

Utah QSL



Amateur Radio Station ACØPR

Welcome to my homepage! Above is my current QSL card, taken in Snow Canyon State Park about 10 minutes from my home . This site is related to my amateur radio (ham) activities and interests. I hope you enjoy it and find it useful in some way. I did live in North Dakota for 6 years, a fun place to be a ham. Thanks for stopping by! 73 de Mike.

Field Day 2021 w/ W7CXX
Video from Field Day 2020
My Ham Radio Blog
Link to

My base station consists of my main radio, a Yaesu FT-991 with a 43-foot DXE vertical antenna and an autotuner at its base. I have two keys on the desk (though many others elsewhere) which are a Begali Magnetic Classic and a J-38 used in WWII in Japan to contact Korea (there is a Korean coin glued to the knob). I use N3JFP's Amateur Contact Log for my logging program. I  have a homebrew key switch to change from the different keys. I also have a fully functioning Heathkit SB-101, mostly to help me learn about tube radios and a Kenwood TS-440 as a backup. I have a Yaesu FT-857D as go-box radio with a N3ZN qrp key (see Homebrew/Photos tabs). Please see the SOTA tab for equipment used on activations.

I generally run 100 watts barefoot unless I'm specifically using a qrp rig made from a kit. I operate almost exclusively on CW, it's just SO enjoyable, after having done a lot of SSB and more digital than I would like (I did spend many months on digital to help those who needed North Dakota on certain modes--but I'm not a fan and no longer try and keep the software up and running--sorry). Contact me at

ShackHeathkit SB-101
Kenwood TS440DXE 43 ft vertical

Besides radio, I have my family; I like to travel a lot (and will be using those trips for mini DXpeditions); I hunt, garden and preserve what I grow, am very active in my church (The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints) and teach Spanish as a profession (which leaves weekends and summers for some of my other activities). I'm out of the Army (9 years served), but my time in is a big part of who I am. My wife, Joan, is now KDØSSQ and my Dad is KC7EC, and my brother, Bob, is W7UFC.
Have the need to read something? Here's a
write-up of my first year's experience operating.